The James Bay territory is an integral part of the administrative region of northern Quebec, which also includes Nunavik. These territories cover an area of 840,000 sq. km. The James Bay territory covers 42% of northern Quebec and 23% of the total area of Quebec. It is located between the 49th and 55th north parallels. Two groups of people inhabit this vast territory, including the Cree and the Jamesians. The Cree live in nine communities, while the Jamesians live in four cities and three towns. With the exception of the Cree community of Whapmagoostui, all communities in the territory are accessible by road.

For additional information on cities and communities in the area, please visit: