The SDBJ is administered by a board of seven members with diverse skills. All members are appointed by the government, and included among them is three representatives of the Cree Nation. The Board shall exercise all the rights and powers that the SDBJ is authorized to perform under its legislation, its regulations or other governing laws..

The Chairman of the Board convenes and chairs meetings, and sees to their proper functioning. Additionally, he exercises other functions assigned to him by the board.

The CEO is responsible for the administration and management of the SDBJ under its regulations and policies.

The ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, to which the SDBJ reports, can, within the framework of its responsibilities, give the SDBJ guidelines on its objectives and guidelines. These guidelines must be subject to government approval.


Gaston Bédard,
Chairman of the Board

Mr. Bédard holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration (Public Accountancy) and a Master of Science degree in Economy and Organizational Management from Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. He also holds a Certificate in Corporate Directorship (ASC) from Université Laval. He is a member of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec (FCPA, FCGA) and the Ordre des administrateurs agréés du Québec (ADM.A).

From 1979 to 2009, he served as CEO of Caisses Desjardins in Gentilly, Plessisville, Rocamadour and Limoilou. He was also Consulting and Performance Director from 1988 to 1999. From 2009 to 2011, he served as Vice President – Support for Business Credit Union and Mutual Companies within the Mouvement Desjardins.

He has been President and CEO of the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité since 2012.

Mr. Bédard was nominated to the SDBJ Board of Directors and named Chairman by the Québec Cabinet on September 2, 2015.

Luce Asselin,
Deputy chairman of the board

Ms. Asselin holds a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Université Laval and a teaching certificate from Université de Montréal, as well and a law degree.

Her professional career began in 1986 as a teacher with the Ontario Ministry of Education. From 1988 to 2001, she served in several positions, including in the Québec National Assembly and the offices of the Deputy Minister and Minister of Energy and Resources. From 2001 to 2005, she served as Executive Director of two ministers’ offices. She then worked for government-owned corporation Hydro-Québec from 2005 to 2008, where she successively held the positions of Advisor and then Manager of Special Mandates. In 2008, Ms. Asselin was nominated to the Board of Directors and named President and CEO of the Agence de l’efficacité énergétique, holding both positions until 2011. She was appointed Deputy Minister for Energy of the Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles in 2014, also becoming responsible for Mines in 2017.

She was nominated to the SDBJ Board of Directors and named Vice Chair on June 21, 2017.


Amélie Béchard,

Ms. Béchard holds a Bachelor’s degree in Forestry Operations from Université Laval and is a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec.

She began her professional career in 2007 as a forestry planning engineer at Horizon SF inc., where she remained until 2010. In 2010, Ms. Béchard started her own company, Ressources Baie-James, where she is both a manager and forestry engineer. Her company was awarded the turnkey contract for forestry harvest operations by Eacom Matagami. The Québec Cabinet nominated her to the SDBJ Board of Directors on September 2, 2015.


Davey Bobbish,

Bobbish holds a Diploma of Collegial Studies (DEC) in administration with a major in finance from Cégep de Saint-Laurent. He began his professional career in 1997 at the Chee-Bee Construction Company Inc., where he worked as Chief Accountant until 2002 before accepting the position of Director General and Treasurer of the Cree Nation of Chisasibi. From 2011 to 2012, he worked as Associate Director General of the Council of the Cree Nation of Chisasibi before being named Chief on March 8, 2012. In addition to his work in the public sector, Mr. Bobbish has acquired a great deal of experience as a Board member on various committees, including the Audit Committee for CREECO, as well as on the Cree Nation Government Board of Compensation. The Québec Cabinet nominated him to the SDBJ Board of Directors on January 30, 2018.


Mandy Shana Gull,

Ms. Gull completed a diploma in Social Sciences from Dawson College in 2005. She also holds two Bachelor’s degrees from Concordia University’s School of Community and Public Affairs: one in Political Science (2005) and one in Community, Public Affairs and Policy Studies (2009).

In July 2017, Ms. Gull was elected to a four-year term as Deputy Grand Chief and Vice Chairperson of the Cree Nation Government, having served as Deputy Chief of the Cree First Nation of Waswanipi from 2014 to 2017. She also owned and operated her own management consulting business from 2012 to 2014.

The Québec Cabinet appointed her as a member of the SDBJ Board of Directors on December 18, 2019.




Alain Coulombe,
CEO and Director

Mr. Coulombe holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Athabasca University in Alberta, and a Masters in Business Administration from the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

His professional career began in 1988 when he became an administrative assistant to the SDBJ. Mr. Coulombe developed a keen interest in the field of economic development. In 1993, the SDBJ awarded him the position of Corporate Development Officer and, in 2000, that of economic development agent. He held that position until 2002, when he was promoted to Director of Economic Development. In March 2010, he was appointed Assistant General Manager of Economic Development. In November 2018, he was appointed Acting Vice-President, Operations and then CEO and Director on Mai 2nd, 2019.


Josée Roy,
Director of Administration and Secretary-Treasurer

Ms. Roy holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and an advanced graduate diploma in accounting from the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. In addition, she has been a member of the Québec Order of Chartered Accountants since 2001. Her professional career began in 1999 in the audit department of the KPMG accounting firm of Rouyn-Noranda. In 2002, she accepted a post as a financial analyst for the Conférence régionale des élus de la Baie-James and the Centre local de développement de la Baie-James in Matagami. In 2004, she began at the SDBJ as Director of Administration and Secretary-Treasurer, a position she still holds today.


Simon T. Hébert,
Mining Portfolio Director

To come.


Moussa Tine,
Director of Infrastructure

To come.


Emil Tagho,
Project Director

Mr. Tagho holds a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering from École de technologie supérieure de Montréal. He has been a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec as a Junior Engineer since 2015.

His professional career began in 2006, when he received a Diploma in Civil Engineering from École nationale supérieure de travaux publics in Yaoundé. He then held the position of Research Engineer for Road Infrastructure Design in Égis for five years before coming to Canada. From 2011 to 2015, he completed a Bachelor’s degree in Construction Engineering to ensure his successful integration into the Canadian job market. Between 2012 and 2016, he completed respective professional internships as a Lab Technician and Assistant Road Project Coordinator with Eurovia, as well as a third internship as a Structural Engineer with ASP Expert conseil. Mr. Tagho joined SDBJ as Project Manager in December 2016 and was promoted to Project Director less than a year later.

Martin Claude Yemele,
Economic Development Director


To come.