The SDBJ is administered by a board of seven members with diverse skills. All members are appointed by the government, and included among them is three representatives of the Cree Nation. The Board shall exercise all the rights and powers that the SDBJ is authorized to perform under its legislation, its regulations or other governing laws..

The Chairman of the Board convenes and chairs meetings, and sees to their proper functioning. Additionally, he exercises other functions assigned to him by the board.

The CEO is responsible for the administration and management of the SDBJ under its regulations and policies.

The ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, to which the SDBJ reports, can, within the framework of its responsibilities, give the SDBJ guidelines on its objectives and guidelines. These guidelines must be subject to government approval.


Gaston Bédard
Chairman of the Board

Line Drouin
Deputy chairman of the board

Andrew Baribeau

Amélie Béchard

Abel Bosum

Paul John Murdoch

Raymond Thibault
CEO and Director

raymond-thibaultMr. Thibault holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the Ecole Polytechnique in Montreal and has been a member of the Québec Order of Engineers since 1979. His professional career began in 1980 as a project manager at the ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec and he rose through the ranks of various departments until he took a position at the SDBJ in 1990 as Director of Infrastructure. He was promoted to Vice President of infrastructure and corporate activities in 1994. Then, from 1997 to 2005, he held the position of Vice President of operations. In 2005, the Conseil des ministres appointed him acting President and CEO. He has been President and CEO of the SDBJ since October 3, 2007.

Josée Roy
Director of Administration and Secretary-Treasurer

josee-rMs. Roy holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and an advanced graduate diploma in accounting from the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. In addition, she has been a member of the Québec Order of Chartered Accountants since 2001. Her professional career began in 1999 in the audit department of the KPMG accounting firm of Rouyn-Noranda. In 2002, she accepted a post as a financial analyst for the Conférence régionale des élus de la Baie-James and the Centre local de développement de la Baie-James in Matagami. In 2004, she began at the SDBJ as Director of Administration and Secretary-Treasurer, a position she still holds today.

Alain Coulombe,
Assistant General Manager of Economic Development

alain-cMr. Coulombe holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Athabasca University in Alberta, and a Masters in Business Administration from the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. His professional career began in 1988 when he became an administrative assistant to the SDBJ. Mr. Coulombe developed a keen interest in the field of economic development. In 1993, the SDBJ awarded him the position of Corporate Development Officer and, in 2000, that of economic development agent. He held that position until 2002, when he was promoted to Director of Economic Development. In March 2010, he was appointed Assistant General Manager of Economic Development.

Pierre Folco,
Mining Portfolio Director

pierre-fPierre Folco has been the mining portfolio director at the SDBJ since November 13, 2006. A graduate of theUniversité du Québec à Montréal, he received a Bachelor of Science in physical geography, with a minor in climatology in 1982 and a Bachelor of Science in geology in 1984. He has been a member of the Québec Order of Geologists since 2002.

First hired by the Groupe Minier St-Jacques inc. as a geologist from 1985 to 1990, he later worked for the Société québécoise d’exploration minière(SOQUEM) as a project manager from 1991 to 2002, then as regional director of the Chibougamau district from 2003 to 2006. Pierre Folco also sits on the boards of NQ Exploration Inc. and the Table jamésienne de concertation minière(JCMT).

Jean Nouvellet
Director of Infrastructure